Hello world

Hello hello hello from Morocco!  I invite you to accompany me on my 11th month-long journey as a Fulbright researcher in Morocco.  I’m currently in Rabat for orientation, but will be heading east to Fez on Friday to start a six-week Darija and cultural studies program at ALIF — the Arabic Language Institute in Fez.  Darija is colloquial Moroccan Arabic.  So far, I have been able to successfully navigate my way around Rabat with my knowledge of modern standard Arabic.  I admit, however, I’m doing a lot of guessing based on context and have had limited interactions with Moroccans due to the nature of being in a large English speaking group.

We’ve been traveling as a pack of Fulbrighters.   Picture a large group of Americans doing a guided tour of any foreign city.  I love it.  I feel so comfortable; so American.  Anyhow, I’m still incredibly jet-lagged and have to be up early to be walked over to, where else…the American Club.

Leave a Reply

